102118 Nelson Richard
102118 Nelson Richard

Nelson elected to state airports affiliation

Revealed 10:51 am Thursday, September 22, 2022

JACKSON — The Mississippi Airports Affiliation elected new board members at its annual convention earlier this month in Starkville. Some are returning members, and a few new people have been welcomed as nicely.

The Mississippi Airports Affiliation is a consortium of people and organizations fascinated with enhancing aviation in Mississippi. The aim of MAA is to advertise aviation and airport pursuits, to offer a medium for dialogue by its members, to advertise correct laws for aviation and airports and to advise and provides session to its members when requested.

Natchez-Adams County Airport Director of Aviation Richard Nelson.

Becoming a member of the board for the primary time are Mary Geter of Jackson Municipal Airport Authority and Richard Nelson of Natchez-Adams County Airport. These re-elected are Wes Kirkpatrick of Monroe County Airport, Sam Washington of Greenville Mid-Delta Airport and Clay Williams of Gulfport-Biloxi Worldwide Airport.

Persevering with board members are Nick Ardillo of Neel-Schaffer, Inc., Tommy Sales space of Michael Baker Worldwide, Matt Dowell of Golden Triangle Regional Airport, Mike Forster of Louisville-Winston County Airport, Tom Heanue of Hattiesburg-Laurel Regional Airport, Elton Jay, retired Director of MDOT Aeronautics, Matt Owens of Hesler-Noble Discipline in Laurel, Chanse Watson of Stennis Worldwide Airport and Tom Williams of Meridian Regional Airport.

Officers for 2021-22 are President Tom Heanue, Vice President Wes Kirkpatrick, Secretary Matt Owens, Treasurer Mike Forster, Assistant Treasurer Matt Dowell and Previous President Sam Washington.